top of page
Image by Aaron Burden

Different orders of spirits - Spiritist Scale

SPIRITUAL JOURNAL - Journal of Psychological Studies - YEAR I- FEBRUARY 1858, No. 2.

Spirits follow the progressive march of nature: those of the lower orders are still imperfect; after being purified, they reach the higher orders; they advance through the hierarchy as they acquire the qualities, experiences, and knowledge they lack. In the crib, the child does not resemble what it will be at a mature age; however, it is always the same being. ’

           Mr Allan Kardec tells us that the definition of the characters of the spirits was observed by their words and deeds, then classified by similarities. Thus, spirits generally admit three main categories or three major divisions. In the last, which is at the bottom of the scale, are the Imperfect Spirits: characterized by the predominance of matter over the Spirit and the propensity for evil. Those of the second are characterized by the predominance of the Spirit over matter and the desire for good: they are the Good Spirits. The first, finally, comprises the Pure Spirits, those who have attained the highest degree of perfection.

Spiritist Scale THIRD ORDER

             IMPERFECT SPIRITS - General characteristics: Predominance of matter over spirit. The propensity for evil. Ignorance, pride, selfishness and all the passions that follow them. They have God's intuition, but they don't understand it.

They can be divided into four main groups:

        Ninth Class - Impure Spirits: They are inclined to the evil of which they are the object of their concerns. As spirits, they give wicked advice, blow discord and distrust, and mask themselves in every way to best deceive.

        Eighth Class - LEVIAN SPIRITS: Often manifest their presence by sensitive effects such as knocking, movement and abnormal displacement of solid bodies, agitation of the air, etc .; which earned them the name of Beating and Disturbing Spirits. They are ignorant, mischievous, thoughtless and mocking.

         Seventh Class - PSEUDO-WISE SPIRITS: They have extensive knowledge, but they believe they know more than they know. It is a mixture of some truths with the most absurd errors […].

       Sixth Class - NEUTRAL SPIRITS: Not good enough to do good, not bad enough to do evil. They cling to the things of this world whose gross joys they miss.


          GOOD SPIRITS - General Characteristics: Predominance of spirit over matter; I wish for good. When incarnate, they are kind and benevolent to their fellow men.

They can also be divided into four main groups:

        Fifth Class - BENEFICIAL SPIRITS: Kindness is the dominant quality in them.

        FOURTH CLASS - SPIRITS OF SCIENCE: They are especially distinguished by the breadth of their knowledge.

        Third Class - WISDOM SPIRITS: The moral qualities of the highest order are what characterises them.

        Second Class - Higher Spirits: These, in themselves, bring together science, wisdom, and goodness. When, by exception, they incarnate on Earth, it is to fulfil the mission of progress, and then they offer us the kind of perfection that Humanity can aspire to in this world.


        Pure Spirits - General Characteristics: No influence of matter.

        First Class - Unique Class: The spirits that compose it went through all the degrees of the scale and stripped themselves of all the impurities of matter. Having reached the sum of perfection that the creature is susceptible to, they no longer have to suffer trials or atonements. No longer subject to reincarnation in perishable bodies, they realise eternal life within God.


SPIRITUAL JOURNAL - Journal of Psychological Studies - YEAR I- FEBRUARY 1858, No. 2.

bottom of page